Best Practices for adding Users to HubSpot

When adding Users to HubSpot you want to ensure you set them up with the correct permissions and partition them appropriately.

Setting up user permissions in HubSpot allows you to partition your users and make sure only those who need access have it. Here are some best practices when setting permissions. 

How to set user permissions

  • In your HubSpot account, click the settings icon in the main navigation bar.
  • Click Users & Teams in the left sidebar menu.
  • Then click ‘Create User’ in the top right corner. 


  • You can now add the user’s email address and choose from a standard permission set or start from scratch. 

Note: Saved Permission Sets is an Enterprise feature

Best Practices

  1. Creating users
    • When creating users we recommend utilising the standard permission sets and then going in and customising based on needs, this will ensure a level of uniformity if you don’t have an Enterprise portal.
    • If you have an Enterprise portal, build out your Saved Permission Sets around key teams or job roles.
  2. Super admins
    • HubSpot super admin permission grants access to ALL elements of your portal, we recommend having no more than five super admins. Super admins will get account-specific notifications which means that notifications for elements like rotating API keys go to them all and this leads to people making changes that could break your setup. 
    • If you do need several Super Admins (even just the five) we recommend you create an SLA with the team that states which users are allowed to make which changes, for example, rotating API keys.

How to create Teams


When a user’s permission is set to Team only, users can only access records owned by or assigned to users in the team for those specific permissions.

  • In your HubSpot account, click the settings icon in the main navigation bar.
  • Click Users & Teams in the left sidebar menu.
  • At the top click on the Teams tab
  • Then click Create team


From here you can give your team a name and add users to that team. If you already have teams created, you can click on the team name and add new people. 


You can also add people to a team by going to their user profile in the User list, clicking on the box next to their name, and clicking on Edit primary team


Understanding Team hierarchy setup


HubSpot allows for two levels of teams

  • Primary Team
  • Additional Team

Users can only have one primary team but can be added as additional team members to multiple teams. 


When a user is added to an additional team:


  • the user can access the additional team's records and any content that's set to Team only permissions.
  • the user can access primary team members' owned records only.
  • the primary team members can access the additional team member's records.

It’s important to note that users who are added as Additional Team Members will not be included in any team reports, routing rules (e.g., conversation routing rules), team notifications (e.g., form submission email notifications to a team), or workflow rotation actions. They will also not be able to view any custom records views set up for the team.


Take a look at this HubSpot article to find out about partitioning assets. 

What is a Child Team?


If you are an Enterprise user, you can create a team hierarchy by setting up parent-child relationships between your teams. 



This allows you to segment your teams into hierarchies which gives you further control over who can see and do what across your portal. When using Child Teams, members of parent teams can see everything owned by the child team, but the child team can't see everything owned by the parent team or other child teams. 


The setup and adding of users to Child Teams works the same as parent teams. However the above rules still apply, so if the user already has a primary team, they cannot be added as a primary team member, however, they can be added as additional team members.